Thursday, June 26, 2014

DNS Records

Different types of DNS Records:

A (address): Maps Host name to IP address. When a computer has multiple adapters cards or IP address it should have multiple address records.

CNAME (Canonical Name):  Sets an alias for a Host name. For Example, using this record we can have an alias as

MX (Mail Exchange): Specifies a Mail Exchange Server for the Domain, which allows mail to be delivered to the correct mail servers in the Domain.

NS (Name Server): Specifies Name Server for the Domain, which allows DNS Lookups within various Zones. Each Primary and Secondary name server should be declared through this record.

PTR (Pointer): Creates pointer that maps an Ip address to a host name for reverse lookups.

SOA (Start of Authority): Declares the host that's the most authoritative for the zone and is the best source of DNS information for the zone.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Windows Server 2008 Shortcut Commands

Windows Server 2008 Shortcut Commands Admin Console:

AdRmsAdmin.Msc                 Active Directory Rights Management Services

Adsiedit.Msc                            ADSI Edit

Azman.Msc                              Authorization Manager

CertMgr.Msc                            Certificates

Certtmpl.Msc                           Certificates Template Console

CluAdmin.Msc                        Failover Cluster Management

ComExp.Msc                          Component Services

CompMgmt.Msc                     Computer Management

DevMgmt.Msc                         Device Manager

DfsMgmt.Msc                          Dfs Management

DhcpMgmt.Msc                       DHCP Management

DiskMgmt.Msc                        Disk Management

DnsMgmt.Msc                         DNS Manager

Domain.Msc                            Active Directory Domain and Trusts

Dsa.Msc                                   Active Directory Users and Computers

DsSite.Msc                              Active Directory Sites and Services

EventVwr.Msc                         Event Viewer

FsMgmt.Msc                            Shared Folders

Fsrm.Msc                                  File Server Resource Manager

FxsAdmin.Msc                         Microsoft Fax Service Manager

GpEdit.Msc                               Group Policy Editor

LusrMgr.msc                            Local Users and Groups

Napclcfg.Msc                            Nap Client Configuration

NfsMgmt.Msc                           Services for Network File System

Nps.Msc                                     Network Policy Server

Ocsp.Msc                                   Online Responder

PerfMon.Msc                             Reliability and Performance Monitor

PkiView.Msc                               Enterprise PKI

PrintManagement.Msc            Print Management

RemotePrograms.Msc            TS Remote App Management

Rsop.Msc                                   Resultant Set of Policy

SecPol.Msc                                Local Security Policy

ServerManager.Msc                Server Manager

StorageMgmt.Msc                   Share and Storage Management

Services.Msc                            Services

StorExpl.Msc                           Storage Explorer

TapiMgmt.Msc                        Telephony

TaskSchd.msc                       Task Scheduler

Tmp.Msc                                 Trusted Platform Module (TPM) Management

TsAdmin.Msc                        Terminal Services Management

TsConfig.Msc                       Terminal Services Configuration

TsGateway.Msc                   TS Gateway Manager

TsMMC.Msc                         Remote Desktops

UDDI.Msc                            UDDI Services Console

WbAdmin.Msc                    Windows Server Backup

WdsMgmt.Msc                   Windows Deployment Services

WinsMgmt.Msc                  WINS Manager

WmiMgmt.Msc                   WMI Control

Saturday, June 14, 2014



Below are different different HTTP CODES which we get in our routine life.

  1. Error 400 - Bad Request
     2.  Error 401 - Unauthorized Request

     3.  Error 403 - Forbidden

     4.  Error 404 - Not Found

     5.  Error 500 -Internal Error

     6.  Error 501 - Not Implemented

     7.  Error 502 - Bad Gateway

     8.  Error 503 -Service Unavailable

     9.  Error 504 - Gateway Time-Out

    10. Error 505 - HTTP Version Not Supported/ DNS Lookup

    11. Error 500-599 - Server Errors

Saturday, June 7, 2014

IIS 7.0 on Windows Server 2008

IIS 7.0 Web server can be installed with two different ways in Windows Server 2008.

  • As part of Core Server mode where IIS 7.0 is installed as one of  Server roles.

  • Other way to install is through GUI mode where IIS 7.0 will install as Server roles.

GUI Mode: With GUI mode for Management and Administration.

Server Core Mode: Only Command Promt and power shell is available for Management and Administration.

The above method can be made unattended through unattended installation.

IIS on windows server 2008. 

IIS can be installed through GUI mode using new server manager interface  after Windows Server 2008 installation completes.

Server Manager provides single dashboard to install and uninstall server roles and features. It also provides overall features and roles installed currently on Server.

You can install IIS from server Manager:

Click Start Menu - Server Manager or Start Menu - Administrative Tools - Server Manager.

Select Add Roles under Roles.

Select Web Server (IIS) on Server roles page.

Choose the IIS services to be installed. Select the services which your application required.

When choosing the above services, you might be prompted with a warning to install some required services for the selection above, if the services are not already installed:


IIS 7 is now installed with all default configurations.